Nanyang Kindergarten was founded
in July 1934 and is believed to have been the first Chinese
kindergarten in the whole of the Malayan Peninsular at that
time. During the Second World War, the school premises were
used as a field office by the British Army. School facilities
were destroyed during the Japanese Occupation. After the war
in 1945, with the concerted and dedicated efforts of the Board
of Directors, management, staff and alumni, the School was slowly
restored to its former glory. Nanyang Kindergarten grew and
evolved into a kindergarten entity on its own in 1960, marked
by its historic move into 118 King's Road in the same year.
It was the vision of our wise predecessors to provide quality
education for students from kindergarten through to high school.
Nanyang Kindergarten shares the same rich heritage of the Nanyang
Family which comprises of Nanyang Kindergarten, Nanyang Primary
School and Nanyang Girls' High School. Nanyang Kindergarten
has a well established tradition and owes its present achievements
to the hard work and dedication of the Board of Directors, management,
staff, alumni and community leaders over the years.